Loading Events

« All Events

  • This event has passed.

Chanukah: Balancing Joy and Sorrow

December 10, 2023 @ 4:30 pm - 6:30 pm PST

We will celebrate Chanukah both in person and simultaneously on Zoom on Sunday, December 10th at 4:30pm PT (5:30pm MT, 6:30pm CT, 7:30pm ET)

This Chanukah we will find a balance: celebrating one of the first national liberation struggles (of which we are aware) and its spiritual meaning for our lives today, while simultaneously striving to disentangle this holiday from chauvinist nationalism–a nationalism that is devastating Palestinians lives today and putting Israeli and Jewish lives at risk. We will balance our celebrations with some reflective and meditative time to honor this historical moment in which we find ourselves. 

Rabbi Lerner will share a version of the Chanukah story, both its liberation struggle and the struggle between two factions of Jews to make meaning of the Chanukah. Musical director Ami Goodman will join us in person and lead us in music and dancing. Rabbi Cat will provide the container for us to hold the tension of celebration and mourning.

Our Chanukah celebration is free for Beyt Tikkun members. For non-members, we ask for a donation of $10 (and offer a sliding scale). We will share a portion of the proceeds with Rebuilding Alliance, an organization dedicated to advancing equal rights for Palestinians through education, advocacy, and support that assures Palestinian families the right to a home, schooling, economic security, safety, and a promising future. They provide direct support to the people of Gaza.

Please click here to donate. After you donate, you will receive an email that includes a link to register and then receive the Zoom link, as well as a link to register for in-person participation. If you want to join us in-person, please click on that link and register to receive the address.

Details

Date:
December 10, 2023
Time:
4:30 pm - 6:30 pm PST
Event Category:
Website:
https://www.beyttikkun.org/2023/11/30/chanukah2023/

Organizer

Beyt Tikkun
Phone
5106441200
Email
acohen.tikkun@gmail.com
View Organizer Website

© 2024 Beyt Tikkun - WordPress Theme by Kadence WP